Drunk Driving / OWI
Southfield DUI Attorney
There are any number of under the influence offenses, including Operating While Intoxicated, Operating While Visibly Impaired, Operating Under the Influence of Drugs and Operating with the Presence of Drugs. All of these can be based upon an officer’s observation of driving which appears to be affected by alcohol or a controlled substance. Michigan’s legal limit for alcohol consumption while driving is .07, although you could theoretically be charged with impaired driving for practically any level of alcohol in your system. According to Michigan law, any first offense drunk driving charge is considered a misdemeanor which is punishable by as much as 93 days in jail.
All Consultations are confidential and completely no-obligation to you. We serve Southfield, Oakland County, metro Detroit, and the entire State of Michigan.
Take Your Charges Seriously
While you may not think your specific charges are that serious, you should definitely take them seriously as the punishments and penalties in the state of Michigan can be very severe. You could face incarceration, thousands of dollars in fines, suspension of your driver’s license and embarrassment in your community and at work which is why having a highly skilled attorney is crucial when defending your rights against the charges being leveled against you. Your goal, and the goal of your attorney is to avoid a conviction on your drunk driving or reckless driving charges, and the attorneys of Satawa Law are proficient in doing just that. If you do not want a mistake like this to end up not only altering your present life, but becoming an anchor which holds you back for the rest of your life, then hire the very best attorney to defend you.
Super-Drunk Law in Michigan
As of November 1, 2010, Michigan passed a “super drunk” law which allows punitive and license sanctions for first offenders with a blood alcohol content of .17 or higher—up to 180 days in jail, a license suspension for one year, mandatory one year alcohol treatment and the necessity of installing an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. A second offense drunk driving charge is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year in jail as well as a license revocation. A third offense within your lifetime is considered a felony with a maximum penalty of five years in prison, license revocation up to five years, and vehicle immobilization from one to three years. If you were driving under the influence and injured or killed another person as a result, you could face substantial prison time and need an experienced attorney even more.
Remember These Facts
Michigan law does not mandate that you tell the officer if you have been drinking or how much you have been drinking. The only thing you should say is that you want an attorney before you speak. Likewise you are not required by law to participate in field sobriety testing—don’t help the officer build a case against you. You can lose your driving privileges should you refuse to take the breath test, however in a second or third offense this will not be as much of a consideration. Don’t waive any of your rights and staunchly exercise your right to remain silent. You are allowed under Michigan law to request a Datamaster breath test once you arrive at the police station, and you can ask that another officer administer it.
What We Can Do For You
The attorneys of Satawa Law have handled many drunk and reckless driving cases, and know that attention to detail as well as a thorough investigation of all the evidence is critical. We make a firm commitment to each and every client to achieve the very best result possible for their case, and we follow through on that commitment. We will gather all available information, review it thoroughly and determine how strong your overall defense is. While some attorneys rely on the obviously biased police report in their assessment, we go much further in gathering evidence. If you want a skilled team of attorneys firmly in your corner, call Satawa Law today.
- I Refused To Take A Breath Test After I Was Arrested On Suspicion Of Drunk Driving In Michigan. What’s Going To Happen Now?
- I’ve Been Offered A Plea Deal Down To OWVI Charges. Should I Go Ahead And Take It?
- If I Accept A Plea Offer In My OWI Case, What Happens If I’m On Probation?
- Do I Have The Right To Consult An Attorney Before Deciding On Whether Or Not To Take A Breathalyzer Or Chemical Test?
- Why Was I Still Arrested If I Passed All Of The Field Sobriety Tests?
- Do I Have To Answer All The Police Officer’s Questions About My Drinking If I Am Pulled Over?
- After My OWI Arrest In Michigan, I Was Issued A Temporary Driving Permit. What Happened To My License?
- Can I Avoid The One-Year License Revocation For A Second OWI Conviction In Michigan?
- Is It Legal For The Police To Forcibly Take A Blood Test If I Refuse The Chemical Or Breath Tests?
- Are Preliminary Breath Test Results Going To Be Admissible In Court?
- Will A Previous Drunk Driving Conviction From Another State Show Up On My Record When Charged With An OWI In Michigan?
OWI Cases In Michigan
In Michigan, the drunk driving statute is referred to as an OWI (Operating While Intoxicated). The lesser offense in Michigan is known as OWVI (Operating While Visibly Impaired). This includes using alcohol, drugs, or any other intoxicating substance which affects a person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely. Read more
Call Today For Your Free Case Strategy Session